Permit rules for foundation repair change at every city limit in the Huntsville area. This post sets out what the published rules say for the City of Huntsville, the City of Madison, unincorporated Madison County, Athens and Decatur, who pulls the permit, what the historic districts add, and the one question about engineer’s letters that no city document we found answers. Huntsville Foundation Quotes connects Huntsville-area homeowners with independent local foundation repair, crawl space and waterproofing companies for free, no-obligation quotes; the contractor, not the homeowner and not this site, handles the permit. This is general information, not legal advice.
City of Huntsville: the $250 and structural rule
In the City of Huntsville a permit is required when labor and materials exceed $250 or any structural work is involved (Inspection Department FAQ); the contractor pulls it and must hold a City of Huntsville business license. The FAQ exempts only painting, wallpapering, fencing and floor covering. The City’s technical-codes ordinance uses the same test and deletes the International Residential Code’s own “work exempt from permit” and “repairs” exemptions, so the IRC’s general repair carve-outs do not apply inside the city. Piering, underpinning, wall anchoring and house leveling are structural work by any ordinary reading, though the ordinance does not name piers or underpinning explicitly; confirm the permit type with the Inspection Department (305 Fountain Circle) before work is scheduled.
The code behind the permit is set by Ordinance No. 21-1006, adopted November 18, 2021 and effective January 1, 2022, which adopts the 2018 International Residential Code, the 2018 International Building Code and the 2018 International Existing Building Code, among others. No later amending ordinance was found, but none was ruled out; the department can confirm the current edition. The same ordinance sets a minimum footing depth of two feet below finished grade, requires sealed engineering for footings on or adjacent to slopes, and lists footing and foundation inspections among the City’s required inspections. National guides put permit fees at $75–$150; Huntsville’s fee schedule was not retrieved, so ask the contractor to show the fee as a line item.
Huntsville’s historic districts
Four local historic districts, Twickenham, Old Town, Five Points and Alabama A&M University, sit under the Huntsville Historic Preservation Commission (HHPC). The City states that all properties within the districts are subject to design review by the HHPC for exterior changes before a Certificate of Appropriateness or building permit is issued. The commission meets the second Monday of each month, with applications due the last Monday of the prior month. Neither City page we reviewed mentions foundations, piers, crawl-space vents or grading, so it is not settled which foundation work counts as an exterior change. Visible work such as replacing brick piers, changing skirting or exterior waterproofing that alters grade or masonry is the kind of change the “exterior changes” rule describes; interior piering with no exterior change is not addressed. Owners in those districts should ask the Preservation Office before quotes are finalized.
City of Madison: “Repairs” and “Foundation Only”
The City of Madison’s residential permit application has “Repairs” and “Foundation Only” permit types, alongside new construction, additions and interior alterations. The application asks for a City of Madison license number and either a Homebuilders License number or a General Contractors License number, requires a signed contract showing the contract cost, and states that an owner acting as general contractor must occupy the house for at least one year after completion if the valuation exceeds $10,000. Permits run through the city’s online portal, and the Building Department is at 100 Hughes Road. The form does not state which code edition the city enforces. See our Madison page for the local picture.
Unincorporated Madison County: the $1,000 rule
Unincorporated Madison County (Harvest, Meridianville, Hazel Green, New Market, Toney) requires permits for work of $1,000 or more, per the county’s published summary. The same summary says the county enforces the 2018 International Residential Code with local amendments adopted in its 2021 Residential Construction Resolution, that permits run through the county’s online portal, and that footing, foundation and slab inspections are among the required types. The county Inspection Department is at 266-A Shields Road in Huntsville. We could not open the county’s pages directly, which is why the figures carry that caveat; confirm the threshold with the department. Parcels inside Huntsville, Madison, Owens Cross Roads and the other municipalities follow those cities’ rules, not the county’s, and Owens Cross Roads has its own permitting office. Harvest, Meridianville and Hazel Green homeowners can start with our area pages.
Athens and Decatur
Permits vary by city; your contractor confirms with the building department. Decatur’s Building Department at 402 Lee Street NE states that it issues all construction permits for the city, including repairs and remodeling, and reviews residential plans against the currently adopted IRC, though its pages do not name an edition. For Athens, no official building-department page was retrieved and third-party directories conflict on the address, so treat anything a directory says as unverified until the city confirms it. Note that the Huntsville and Madison city limits extend into Limestone County, where those cities’ codes apply. Our Athens and Decatur pages carry what is known for each.
Who pulls the permit
The contractor does. In Huntsville, the FAQ says anyone paid for contractor or subcontractor work must be licensed with the Inspection Department, which means a City business license on top of any state license. A homeowner may act as owner-builder only on their own residence, and the Huntsville FAQ warns that owner-builders lose Home Builders Licensure Board protection for defects. A permit pulled in the contractor’s name is also your record of which company took responsibility for the work. If a company suggests you pull the permit yourself, or that no permit is needed, get another quote. The permit should appear as a line item on the written proposal, with the permit number supplied before work starts and the inspection record supplied at the end.
The state license sits underneath all of this
Alabama requires a Home Builders Licensure Board (HBLB) residential home builder license for any repair to a home when the cost exceeds $10,000 (Ala. Code §34-14A-2(16)); the HBLB says work that affects structural integrity needs the unlimited license, not the limited one; and licensees must show their license number in advertising and contracts (§34-14A-7). Ask for the company’s HBLB license number and check it on the HBLB lookup before signing. Jobs under $10,000 need no HBLB license, though the city permit and business-license rules still apply. The HBLB Homeowners’ Recovery Fund, up to $30,000 per transaction, applies only when the builder was licensed. Our licensing post walks through the unlimited and limited classes.
The unconfirmed question: engineer’s letters
Whether the City of Huntsville requires a sealed engineer’s letter for residential underpinning, either as a design before the permit or a sign-off after the piers are in, is not stated in any city document we found. Ordinance 21-1006 does require sealed designs for footings on slopes and accepts a geotechnical study by an Alabama-licensed engineer as an exception to its footing minimums, but it is silent on piers under existing houses. Ask whether the City will want an engineer’s letter, before the quote is final, because the answer changes the price. Any such letter comes only from an Alabama-licensed professional engineer (PE); a contractor’s free evaluation is a sales estimate, not an engineering opinion. Our inspection page explains the difference, and the piers post covers what a PE letter should contain.
Checklist before you sign
- Which jurisdiction is the house in?
- Which permit type will be pulled, by whom, and is the fee on the proposal?
- Is the house in Twickenham, Old Town, Five Points or the A&M district?
- Will the City want an engineer’s letter, and who is paying for it?
- What are the contractor’s HBLB and city license numbers?
To compare proposals from independent local companies that answer these questions in writing, request free quotes through Huntsville Foundation Quotes.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a permit for foundation repair in Huntsville?
Yes in almost every case. The City of Huntsville Inspection Department FAQ says a building permit is required when the cost of material and labor exceeds $250 or any structural work is involved, and piering, underpinning and wall anchoring are structural work. The contractor pulls the permit and must hold a City of Huntsville business license; confirm the permit type with the department.
What permit does the City of Madison use for foundation repair?
The City of Madison’s residential building permit application lists “Repairs” and “Foundation Only” among its permit types. The form asks for a City of Madison license number and a Homebuilders or General Contractors license number, plus a signed contract showing the cost. Permits run through the city’s online portal; the Building Department is at 100 Hughes Road.
Does Madison County require a permit for foundation repair in Harvest or Meridianville?
Per the county’s published summary, unincorporated Madison County requires a permit for construction, renovations, repairs or alterations costing $1,000 or more, under the 2018 IRC with local amendments. That covers most foundation repairs in Harvest, Meridianville, Hazel Green, New Market and Toney. We could not open the county pages directly, so confirm the threshold with the county Inspection Department.